Skip to content

Thrifty Gifts

December 7, 2009

We all have a moment of, “why didn’t I think of that sooner?”  I recently had that ‘a-ha’ moment when I happened into a Brooklyn thrift store.

Thrift stores are great for tons of things, old furniture fit for refurbishing, household appliances, ugly sweaters and books!  Every year I get my brothers a surprise book as a gift for Christmas.  This little tradition started two years ago when I realized their insatiable desire to know everything purchased for them (luckily that trait was never passed onto me).  It made watching them open gifts kind of boring, so I threw in an extra gift for some excitement.

At the thrift store, I bought two hardcover, recent bestsellers for a total of $6!  The cover on one of them needs to be cleaned up a bit, and you can do so by diluting nail polish remover with water and applying the solution with a q-tip (works best on white covers).

Happy Shopping!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

