Skip to content

Thanksgiving Dresses

November 10, 2009

I always feel the need to dress up for any holiday!   I think it goes back to my childhood when my mom would lay out my brand new outfit before I went to sleep.  I would literally be so excited to wear my new, special dress that I could barely sleep…and thus a fashionista was born (sidenote* have you noticed the amount of “-nistas” in recent ads. Fashionista, Maxxinista, Frugalista!)

I still feel the need to go out and buy a new dress for the holidays, and Thanksgiving is no exception.  The only problem being, I don’t have mom’s money to spend, which means I am a bit more budget conscious.  I think I’ve rounded up a fair amount of dresses to choose from from a variety of stores.  The first one, is from JCPenney and the I ‘Heart’ Ronson line.

Iheartronsondress

Ruffle, Belted Dress

This little number retails for $39.99.  Pair it with an existing cardigan or go sleeveless.  If your grandma is anything like mine, she’ll crank that heat up and lull you into a post-workout (because really, eating that much food is a workout) nap.

If a dress isn’t really your thing, check out the I ‘Heart’ Ronson cardigan below!

Cardigan

Ombre Cardigan

This cute little cardigan can be yours for $34.99.  Even if you don’t like it, I encourage you to click on the link to at least flip through the various pictures of this cardigan and this model.  Ty-ty (in some circles she is known as Tyra Banks) would definitely have a thing or two to say about her dead eyes!

Read this slowly, this next one is from WalMart!

WalmartFrenchTunic

French Tunic

The price, of course, cannot be beat.  $15 for this colorful number that will add pizazz to any Thanksgiving gathering.  I  love the button detail and the subtle color fade from the neckline to the hemline.  Ummm, who’s up for a trip to WalMart?

If you’re looking for something a little dressier, than check out the sale rack at Banana Republic.

BRMonogramPleatedDress

Monogram Pleated Dress

I like this $59.99 dress for several reasons.  Let’s cut to the chase, it has an elastic waist.  No need to bring an extra pair of fat pants to change into when you have this sleek number to adjust to your growing waistline.  I always love something with sleeves, and Banana does not disappoint here.  They are big and flowy without being obnoxious. 

Finally, the sale rack at Ann Taylor Loft serves up fall’s favorite pattern: plaid.

AnnTaylorLoftplaid

Plaid Sheath with Ruffle Bib

This is a steal at $40, considering the original was close to $100.  I am not crazy about the styling here.  If you’re anything like me, your tan has faded and your back to being pasty white.  I would suggest putting a simple white, tailored shirt underneath or play around with the $5 long sleeve steals at Target.

If I can’t find anything else, I’ll probably just end up wearing this! It’s vintage people, and Walter Payton is modeling it expertly in this 1986 Sears catalog.  What’s not to love?

BearsThrowback Sweater

A Throwback to Da Bears

One Comment leave one →
  1. FashionLova permalink
    November 12, 2009 1:24 pm

    I am going to WalMart today!

Leave a Reply

